Mom wouldn’t let me eat a vomit grape

grape

Exhibit A: vomit grape. So the story goes, I was doing dishes, and I hadn’t heard L squeal in the last three seconds. Rule #1 of parenting: quiet kid = mischief brooding. Turns out, that little chipmunk had stored a grape in his cheek and was gagging on it. Luckily, he had positioned himself near the ottoman, so he (instinctively??) leaned over it and out came the culprit. Another rule of parenting: you think baby spit-up is gross until you smell toddler vomit. Then you realize that the baby stuff is just a cute, juicy burp. Naturally, he saw nothing wrong with eating the vomit grape (am I raising a human child or a baby bird?!), and was appalled when I threw it in the trash.

Aside from being really funny, the point of this picture was to illustrate the topic, “6 Ways I Say No to My Kid.” ApPARENTly (ha!), I’m not the first to take incriminating photos of my offspring. I truly hope this guy inspires a trend, because we all know that our kids are cute. But let’s not be liars and pretend we never see them like this.

6 Ways I Say “No” to My Kid

1) Distract, distract, distract. I usually choose the art of distraction over the word “no.” I talk about what we’re going to eat for breakfast during the morning diaper change. While I’m wiping breakfast off of his face and hands, L looks at the family calendar (aka, pics of himself). To forego a fight in the car seat, we listen for our dog barking because we just left her (as I silently hope that we don’t get another noise complaint). In the car, L takes off his shoes and socks Every. Single. Ride. He also “reads” and we look for busses, garbage trucks, and cement mixers. And look: all that just got us to 8:30am!

2) Sing. After reading my first bullet point, I realize that I sing my way through all of these activities. ABC’s are performed during the diaper change, in addition to a French rap about wearing pants, which I composed myself. (Please contact the Grammys on my behalf.) “This is how we wash our hands” is in the post-breakfast repertoire. And pretty much any and every song make up the encore in the car.

3) Tick-estle. The tickle-wrestle requires much more brain than brawn, and is very effective. There must be a buildup:

  • Make eye contact with your opponent.
  • Search for optimal places to strike (tummy, armpits).
  • Do not use the element of surprise; the fun is in the anticipation.
  • ATTACK! Alternate between tickling and wrestling until giggles ensue.

4) Give choices. I do this for everyday tasks like choosing his outfit, a snack, etc. But when I give choices, I’m really just steering him towards the correct one.

  • “You can hold mommy’s hand in the elevator, or I can pick you up.”
  • “You can walk on the sidewalk or sit in the stroller.”
  • “You can have dessert when you finish your banana.” (Finish the damn fruit; mom wants dessert!)

5) Say buh-bye. We pretty much say bye-bye to everything: When we’re finished playing with a toy, when an activity is over, and when we say good-bye to an actual person. A five, then three, then one minute warning are given prior to the farewell. I say good-bye, and then L usually does. He needs his closure, you know.

sock hand

6) Just say no. There is a time and place for “no,” and that is L’s safety. After his second degree charcoal grill burn, afternoon in the emergency room, and wardrobe consisting of sock puppet hand for two weeks, we are quick to use the N word in safety situations. So much so that our stern tone usually scares the bejesus out of him. “No” is used near streets, hot stoves, and cabinets filled with toxic liquids (aka, booze).

The explicit use of the N word is rare at our house, but that doesn’t mean we don’t say “no.” We say it implicitly through tactics of distraction, choices, and good-byes. How do you Just Say No…without using the N word?

Stay social, mom friends.

P

17 thoughts on “Mom wouldn’t let me eat a vomit grape

  1. Pingback: Liar, liar, pants on fire | The Social Butterfly Mom

  2. Aw, his burned little paw. Sad!
    Interesting on using “No” only in safety situations. Why only then? I know lots of parents who are almost afraid of using “No” – wondered what your’s’ guy’s’ rationale was. Just to keep it “powerful” for just such safety situations?

    • Thanks for the questions! Yes, we want to keep in powerful for safety situations. As Kelly and Kristin point out, too, it just loses its effect. Toddlers get into so many things that they aren’t “supposed to,” that you would be saying it all the time: spilling food, emptying out the toy basket, hands in the pants. “No” is also very dismissive, so they don’t really know what they are doing and why it’s wrong. Kristin’s “teach a lesson” and “ask a question” are much better tactics than “no.” They are similar to “you can” statements, which demonstrate what a child CAN do with something, while at the same time implying what should NOT be done.

      • Reading about this “NO” word reminds me of something I learned as an early childhood educator….STOP is actually a much more powerful word to use compared to NO. Especially in those safety situations. Noooooo can kind of trail off, where as STOP has a sharp ending and gets a child’s attention better/faster than NO. Just something to think about. STOP also works great with my yellow lab 🙂

  3. This is great Erin! This is our philosophy. First, I LOVE to take incriminating photos of Jack — my preference being his meltdowns. I’m sure some parenting expert would tell me that it’s a ghastly thing to do, but I plan to add each tantrum picture to a wedding slideshow one day. We’re not big fans of “No” – we’ve found that in “no” situations that the art of distraction is much more effective. The more he hears us use “No” the more he uses it. Keep the posts coming! xo

  4. I agree with the often over use of NO. All of your suggestions are good. I also use the “Teach a lesson” (ex. Bats are for hitting balls not your sister) and “Asking a question” (ex. Is that food? Than should it be in your mouth?) Great post and pictures of not so shining moments.

  5. I am going to have to keep this in mind, should I ever had bambinos! The picture of L crying over the grape is adorable! Oh kids ! 🙂

  6. Awesome! You need to keep all those hilarious photos for his 18th birthday or graduation!
    I love the tips for saying no, I need to remember these!

    Also, I always kind of want to eat what I just choked on, I do think it is instinctual. 🙂

  7. You have such great parenting skills, Erin! I wish I had used these on you and Matt. I especially like the way you handle transitions with L. I feel kind of funny saying “Good-bye” to the playground or the puzzles, or whatever, but it works. L is a lucky little guy to have you and A for parents.

Leave a comment